FC United of ManchesterSmaller TextLarger Text

Match Details   

7.45pm Tuesday 25th July 2017


Hurst Cross, Surrey Street, Ashton-under-lyne, OL6 8DY

Ashton United 3 - 4FC United of Manchester

Attendance: 233

Match Report

FC United scored four goals to beat old rivals Ashton United 4-3 on Tuesday evening thanks to goals from Nathan Lowe, Lewis Lacy, Connor McCarthy and Jason Gilchrist.

With less than two weeks until the start of the season it was another new look starting XI with six new faces starting the game and the first half was a little bit like a game you’d expect with players still getting to know each other.

FC went a goal up just after half an hour with Nathan Lowe netting a trademark low on 36 minutes, hard strike but we somehow managed to go in 2-1 down thanks to two strikes from Yaw Gimah; the first a penalty and then a really well taken low drive from inside the box that was just out of the reach of Lloyd Allinson.

We maybe got some indication of the starting XI looking to make up the bulk of the first choice for the league in that ten of them stayed on the pitch for the start of the second half with goalkeeper Allinson being replaced by Jonny Musangu.

Lewis Lacy once again gave a good performance up front and got himself on the scoresheet heading home a corner early in the second half on 54 minutes, but Liam Tomsett gave the hosts the lead once again just minutes later.

From this point FC came on strong and were soon level when Connor McCarthy rounded the Ashton goalkeeper and several members of the defence on 63 minutes before eventually slotting home.

The victory was sealed on 71 minutes with a superbly taken effort from Jason Gilchrist who fired past Povey in the Ashton goal at the near post from a tight angle.

The result and performance proved to be a good way to bounce back from Saturday’s defeat at South Shields and set up the two home ties in the next week against Bolton and Fleetwood, which could prove to be the biggest tests before the season kicks off.

Man of the Match: Lewis Lacy – Played up front again looking big and strong as you would expect, but also showing a good touch and an aerial threat that got him on the scoresheet early in the second half.

Report by Craig Phillips


2) Danny BRADY
3) Oliver CROWLEY
4) Tom BROWN (Captain)
5) Jordan FAGBOLA
6) Sam BAIRD
7) Ben McKenna
8) Nathan LOWE
9) Lewis LACY
10) Richie BAKER
11) Connor McCARTHY


12) Matthew HUGHES (For No. 5 - 64 mins)
13) Jonny MUSANGU (For No. 1 - Half-time)
14) Jason GILCHRIST (For No. 11 - 64 mins)
15) Callum NICHOLAS (For No. 4 - 64 mins)
16) Joel LOGAN (For No. 7 - 64 mins)
17) Michael JONES (For No. 8 - 64 mins)
19) Kieran GLYNN (For No. 10 - 64 mins)

Previous MatchNext Match

Football Club United of Manchester,

Broadhurst Park, 310 Lightbowne Road, Moston, Manchester, M40 0FJ

FC United Office Opening Hours - Mon-Fri, 9am-5pm

FC United Office Email - office@fc-utd.co.uk

FC United Office Phone - 0161 769 2005

FC United Office Fax - 0161 769 2014

Free Text Message Service - 07786 200 353

The Living Wage Foundation
FC United A-Z
Site Index

127 Club Members
Academic Papers
Advanced News Search
Away Grounds
Away Tickets & Travel
Broadhurst Park
Club Board Chart
Club Manifesto
Club Structure
Code of Conduct
Complaints Procedure Contact FC United
Cookies Policy
Co-owners' Area
Co-owners' Forum
Development Fund
Disabled Access
Doing Things Differently
Election Policy
Equal Opportunities
Ex-FC Utd Players
FC Groundhoppers
FC United & Live TV
FC United Blog FC United Shop
FCUM Radio
First Visit
Friendly Criteria
Half Time Draw
Home Tickets
Info for Visiting Fans
IPS Rules
League Table Links
Man of the Match
Match Day Photos
Members' Forum
Moston Juniors FC
News Archive
News Search
Old Boys
Ops Board Chart
Org Charts
Pink Newsletter
Punk Football
Press Releases Records
Season Tickets
SLT Chart
Supporters' Groups
Text Service
The Pink
Travel Hub
Web Archive
Who Are We?
You Tube
Copyright © 2005-2017 FC United of Manchester (except fixtures, tables and images used by kind permission of their respective rights holders). All rights reserved.